University of Applied Sciences and Arts (Fachhochschule)

The FHNW University of Applied Sciences and Arts Northwestern Switzerland has regional roots but a national and international orientation, and is one of Switzerland’s most innovative institutions of higher education. It covers all the subjects offered at this level up to now in Northwestern Switzerland: technology, construction, business, art and design, social work, education, and music. 


The FHNW comprises nine schools:

FHNW School of Applied Psychology

FHNW School of Architecture, Civil Engineering and Geomatics

FHNW Academy of Art and Design

FHNW School of Life Sciences

FHNW Academy of Music

FHNW School of Education

FHNW School of Social Work

FHNW School of Engineering

FHNW School of Business


The FHNW has sites throughout the four supporting cantons in Brugg-Windisch, Liestal, Muttenz, Olten, and Solothurn.